Be as you are

“Tension is who you think you should be.  Relaxation is who you are.”                  – Chinese Proverb

I can’t think of any truer statement.  I have had the opportunity to pass this sentiment along to two friends of mine today.  Interestingly enough, they were both the in market for jobs and we were discussing interviews.  My only suggestion was that they focus on speaking from their “core” and just be themselves.  This way, they never have to worry about putting on their “work persona” and they can make sure both they and the employer believe there is a match.

I think we have a tendency to sell ourselves in those types of situations and worry too much about who we think we should be instead just being who we are.  I read something some time ago that went something like, “we over-value what we aren’t and under-value what we are.”  Regardless of where, when, or why we are any situation, we should always be ourselves.  I guess I should clarify that I am talking about always abiding by your principles and staying true to your faith.  The challenging part of this is that will be times when we need to challenge ourselves from a personality standpoint.  We cannot just say, “Well that is the way I am so there.”  We all have opportunities when it comes to this area and need to embrace them when they arise.  I say this with a smirk because I can tell from experience, it ain’t easy.  I have seen more than my share of these opportunities and can be a somewhat sobering discussion in your head when you truly accept the way people perceive you.

The leverage you have is when you do buy into your own vision for your life and determine you are preventing yourself from achieving it.  Mea culpa!

To bring this full circle, I wish us all a life of  “relaxation”.

Leave a comment

Filed under Looking in the mirror, Real Life, The Human Condition

Leave a Reply

