It’s about the dash in between

I was watching “Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull the other evening and there is a scene where Indy is speaking to a colleague and he says, “We are at the stage where life begins taking more things away from us then it gives.”  This hit me like a hammer.  I am just north of 40 years old and know that loss will most likely become a larger part of my life from this point forward.  

There is nothing anyone can do about this as death and life are inextricably wound together and one really has not value without the other.  When I hear things like this, they have a clarifying effect on me.  I can see there are things that need to be differently in order to ensure that I am spending my time appropriately as time is the one thing we can never get any more of.

For me the important job is my family.  I truly believe this is the one task that only I can do.  I was uniquely created by God to be a husband to my wife and a father to my children.  When it comes to work, there is a long line of people that could do my job and things would not miss a beat.  This is not so with my family, yet I have not always acted in this manner.  There was a long time I believed my job was my job and I was “providing” for my family.  I have come to learn that providing means much more than earning money to pay bills.  I am to provide leadership at home and should spend more time focused on this than on how or when I can get the next promotion.

We often make the mistake of thinking that if we just made “X” much more money or had the corner office, things would be different and we would relax or take more time off .  This is quite the fallacy and we all know it.  We pursue these things because it is the environment we are comfortable in and it is something we know how to do.  

We all have seasons in our lives and that is natural.  I say that now but that is because I have the benefit of hindsight.  The challenge is to make sure that regardless of the season, we keep the most important things directly in front of us and not lose sight of them. 

The dash mentioned in the title of this posting refers to the dash between the year we were born and dies on our tombstone.  What will that dash represent on your stone?

1 Comment

Filed under Looking in the mirror, Real Life, The Human Condition

One response to “It’s about the dash in between

  1. Anon

    There’s two dates in time
    That they’ll carve on your stone
    And everyone knows what they mean
    What’s more important
    Is the time that is known
    In that little dash there in between

Leave a Reply

