It’s time to trade me in

Lisa (my amazing talented wife) recently sent me an article on Adam Yauch from Rolling Stone magazine.  For those of you who don’t know, Yauch was one of the members of the Beastie Boys and died earlier this year from salivary cancer at the age of 48.  Below is an excerpt from the article.

Adam Yauch kept it going full steam. Teenage punk; semi-malicious egg-tossing prankster; underrated bass player; world’s first credible white rapper; beer-guzzling hell-raiser; pothead; acidhead; skier, skater and snowboarder; Buddhist; outspoken feminist; Tibetan activist; friend to the Dalai Lama; music-video and documentary director; indie-movie distributor; vegan; husband; father – he was all of these things, trading in outmoded selves like used vinyl when enlightenment beckoned. “If there was one word to describe Adam, it was ‘evolved,'” says one of his oldest friends, Matthew Allison. “He always took things further, to a level you never expected.”

I added the bold to the line above and find that simile (as opposed to a metaphor…I should know the difference since my undergrad degree is in English…if you don’t trust me, check out this link) to be profound.  It seems so easy to say but to think about doing something like that and actually recognizing when it is time to “evolve” as a person.  I know we can all intellectually understand the concept but there is a wide chasm between that and actually taking the steps to make it happen. Change is so important yet so incredibly hard to accomplish.

I certainly do not have any answers but I do wish for all of us that we learn from Adam Yauch and find the strength to trade in our outmoded selves and move on to the next better version.  Perhaps the problem is our frame of reference?  For some reason we think that once we become adults, we just play it out from there?  We lose the ability to look at things as new and possible?  We are so anxious to be “grown up” that we trade in possibilities for certainties?

Again, I am long on questions and short on answers.  That is where I will leave this because that is where we all are and should be?  Maybe the questions are more important than the answers…

2 Comments

Filed under The Human Condition

2 responses to “It’s time to trade me in

  1. the world i live in, i believe this is possible .. i am continually enlightened by the people i meet and i work to pass on that enlightenment to others .. i personally feel it has a lot to do with reading .. people may listen, but we no longer read as much as we used to .. you may hear what an activist is saying, but i think if we actually read what they were saying .. we would all be going ‘now, wait a minute’ .. my father taught me to always trust in the goodness of others, to work hard and be a better person than you were yesterday .. i work hard at doing just that ..

    • Perry

      Troy, thank you for the comment and for sharing your point on view. I could not agree more and am thankful each day for the folks I meet and am able to learn from. I really like your father’s advice as well.

Leave a Reply

