Burdened with Glorious Purpose

bwgp

To begin, I admit the following:

  1. I am a comic book nerd from the 1970’s-80’s.  I read comics back when they would be delivered to me monthly in the mail and cost $.35 each.
  2. I am a language nerd as well.  This stems from being an English Literature major many years ago and getting hooked on Shakespeare, Milton, Blake, Donne, Coleridge, and the rest of that crew.

Knowing those two things explains (somewhat) the title of this post.  For those who are not connecting the dots, this phrase was used by Loki in the opening of the first Avenger’s movie (click here to see it).  That takes care of the comic book angle but the language itself is so very important.  There is so much power and meaning packed into those 4 words and that is a wondrous thing to accomplish.  Don’t take my word for you, Wittgenstein & Conrad will back me up…

“The limits of my language means the limits of my world.”
― Ludwig Wittgenstein

“My task, which I am trying to achieve is, by the power of the written word, to make you hear, to make you feel–it is, before all, to make you see.”
― Joseph Conrad, Lord Jim

Okay, now let’s take a deep breath and come back from literary geekdom to the real point of this post.  I am proposing that we should all “be burdened with glorious purpose”.  If we are going to be on this spinning rock for 70-80 years why wouldn’t we spend it burdened in this manner?  The most amazing part is that you can choose the purpose!

There is a caveat and that is the act of choosing.  I realize that sometimes we may not have complete control over our job or the work we do BUT WE ALWAYS HAVE CONTROL OVER OUR PURPOSE!  We may not always being doing what we want to do but we are always in control of how we do it.

This aligns with the “have-do-be” versus “be-do-have” discussion that goes like this:

  • “If I have these things I want/need then I will do what is required, and then I will be the person I want to be”  (Incorrect)
  • “I will be the person I want to be, which means I will do these things, leading me to have certain things.”  (Correct)

Regardless of how you skin the cat (no cats were actually skinned in this post, just an old colloquialism), the crux of this discussion is that you have a choice.

  1. You can be “burdened with glorious purpose”
  2. You can be simply be burdened

The choice, as always, is yours.  Just remember the warning from the Grail Knight in Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade (yes, I am also a movie geek)

choosewisely

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Looking in the mirror, The Human Condition

Leave a Reply

